How it began…”I’ve had enough” part 1

*Originally posted on Facebook but here it is again since this is what pushed me to write.
July 16th, 2013

I’ve Had Enough!
As I stare at the cursor blinking, overwhelmed with my thoughts going this way and that and how to express my feelings, I realize I must start with the truth. Truth that happened in the summer of 2009. A miracle. A baby. My body’s hypothalamus sends a signal to the pituitary gland to release follicle-stimulating hormone. This hormone prompts several follicles — small, fluid-filled cysts — to develop into mature eggs. After the follicle that released the egg calls for increased estrogen production, the egg has only 24 hours to find it’s partner! Usually 3 out of 4 sperm are abnormal and 4 out of 10 will be bad swimmers. And then most of the sperm cells will die due to the acidic nature of the vagina. From there, they must enter the cervix, swim through cervical mucus, enter the uterus and find the opening to the fallopian tube. And once they’re there, if no egg is present or on the way, it’s been a fruitless journey for the hard-charging survivors. (http://health.howstuffworks.com/pregnancy-and-parenting/pregnancy/conception/conception-process.htm)

When I read this, my jaw drops! How is any of this possible?! How can the journey of a child’s life begin in such a small window of opportunity?! The chances of a life being created seem so little. And a baby isn’t even made yet! There are so many more details in the process of conception. Yet I’ll end there. These phenomenal details could only be made by one Creator. THE Creator.

“God created man in his image; in the divine image he created him; male and female he created them” (Genesis 1:27).

When life is created, there are NO mistakes. Babies are not just a bunch of cells mushed together that grow from the size of a pindrop to a 7lb healthy boy! No. Sweet precious life, our life, your life, is created in the IMAGE of God. One definition of image is this: “an optical counterpart or appearance of an object, as is produced by reflection from a mirror”. Woa. Can we read that again? Like a “reflection in the mirror”? So if God were standing in front of a mirror WE look like Him?! THE one and only God?

Exception. Is there exception to the rule of a child that has been raped? Is our society saying that in that horrible moment of sin, the most tragic moment of a woman’s life, where a horrid man has placed his hands on a woman’s body forcefully and unnaturally, that this innocent child has been the exception to the rule of God’s image? That God turned his back from that mirror when life was created and the child was made in the image of…what? An animal? Some beast? NO! This too is a child created in the image of the Holy God.

I understand people’s thoughts on being able to receive an abortion because they’ve been raped. What a terrible thing! This woman didn’t want this! She didn’t want intercourse from that man. She most certainly shouldn’t be left raising a child that came into existence out of such dark violence. So, abort! That makes it right, right God? That makes it OK? Tell us God that it…is…OK to kill…because we didn’t want “it”.

“You knit me in my mother’s womb . . . nor was my frame unknown to you when I was made in secret” (Psalm 139:13,15).

I’ll never forget that the 5 months it took me to get pregnant with my firstborn felt like forever. What a short time frame, yet when you have 2 doctors perform tests and explain to you that your body is not producing this hormone or that hormone and it might be hard for you to get pregnant, time stands still. The day that I saw that positive line on a test, my knees buckled. I literally could not stand. Even my husband had to tell me to sit. My whole being was overjoyed, shaken, and at a loss for words. I just screamed! There was life inside of me. Me! God chose so abundantly to bless me and my husband. Within just 18 days, my baby had a heart beat. Four weeks in, my baby had eyes, ears, and respiratory systems beginning to form. At 6 weeks his brainwaves could be detected. By 11 to 12 weeks from conception, the baby is breathing fluid steadily and continues to do so until birth. By 14 weeks, there are little whirls and lines called fingerprints on my baby’s hands.

Yet…this is sadly a time when a teenager, a young un-wed mother, a rape victim turns first to an abortion clinic instead of discussing adoption options, and is told there is no baby. It’s just a fetus. Just a slimy ball of cells. Lie. What a lie! I have read endless articles of these poor victimized women who have cried and cried in regret that they chose to kill their baby…all because one person misinformed them that there was in fact, a real life, a real baby, growing and thriving in them.

Yes, I sit here staring at my computer. Flustered. Crying. Angry. Yet..not surprised. Not surprised one bit that this week in Texas during the ban to prohibit abortions after 20 weeks, that the “rented mob” of protesters, shouts things like “Hail Satan”! And “Mary should have aborted Jesus!” and “F*** the church!” These protesters, that came after being offered $2,200 a month from an ad on Craigslist, were found with jars and jars of human feces. Urine, bloody tampons and bricks. Yes, bricks! What makes me sick is not necessarily that they were protesting the “same ‘ole” abortion issues. They were protesting prohibition of abortion after 5 months, when it’s been diagnosed that the child feels pain. A helpless, innocent child feeling stabbed by scissors. A child ripped limb to limb. A child thrown and left in a toilet to drown. A child stuck gasping their first and last breaths of life in a plastic trash bag. The bill also requires abortion mills provide the same level of medical care as other outpatient surgical facilities, and abortionists must have admitting privileges to a hospital within 30 miles. Finally, it requires chemical abortions (RU 486) be administered within approved FDA guidelines. It’s a very pro-child and pro-woman bill that makes babies and their mothers a little safer in Texas. One question for these protesters and these “choice” believers, WHAT. IS. SO. WRONG.WITH. THAT???

If you think this is not going on, then you are terribly, sadly misinformed. Are you one of those that turns their backs because it’s too gruesome to hear the truth? Yes, I used to be one of those. One that knew abortion was wrong, but I simply pictured a perfectly clean, white, shiny doctor’s office, a girl raped and just doing what she felt she should do, by going in to see an abortionist at 8 weeks where the baby’s so small. So did it really matter? I was one of those misinformed. That is what the world wants! That is what the media wants! Where is all this on the news this week? It’s been butted out by the Glee cast member death and by the death of a young Florida teen in a “racist” case.

I hurt for those innocent babies. I so hurt for the people that are misinformed. I ache for the mothers that are told their life is surely better because they will be child-free, yet are faced with years of sadness, depression, and pain. They’ve given up their baby. A piece of them. A life so perfectly created in the IMAGE of our great God.

People wonder…than why does God allow these things to happen? Why not? Are we a deserving nation to have no loss and pain? Absolutely not. Our backs are turned. And what is scary is when God finally decides He has had enough.

“They mutilated their sons and daughters by fire…till the Lord, in his great anger against Israel, put them away out of his sight” (2 Kings 17:17-18).

“They sacrificed their sons and their daughters… and they shed innocent blood, the blood of their sons and their daughters, whom they sacrificed to the idols of Canaan, desecrating the land with bloodshed” (Psalm 106:35, 37-38).

This sin of child-sacrifice, in fact, is mentioned as one of the major reasons that the Kingdom of Israel was destroyed by the Assyrians and the people taken into exile. http://www.priestsforlife.org/brochures/thebible.html

Scary right? And can I just be honest for a minute? I know this will be an on-going battle. I know the days of fighting for these rights may never rest. But what happened this week in Texas is surely a compromise. If we have abortions, than why oh why can’t they be banned after 20 weeks when a child feels a murderer’s hands upon her body? My heart has found some small peace in this. And another little portion of peace knowing that a place in China has found a way to allow some couples to bore a 2nd child. Little fractions of peace. Little bits of change. But change is good. And I can’t help but wonder how many people will read this, just like they have other articles I have posted on abortion on my facebook page, and they have skipped over it? And those that read it, don’t comment on it or even hit like, in fear of what others will think of them. How do I know this? Because I get private messages. Yes, little private messages that they agree with me. Babies need BIG VOICES. Big strong LOUD vicotorious voices fighting for them. Because they are tiny. Fragile. And have no voice because it’s been taken from them in their mother’s womb.

Call me crazy, Jesus freak, call me anything you want…but if your mother considered aborting you, wouldn’t you want to hear my voice?

Emily-Anne Buck

“There shall be no more death” (Revelation 21:4). “Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!” (Revelation 22:20).

Leave a Reply

